Ashburn and Data Center Alley
The deepest ecosystem and tightest vacancy. Strongest when interconnection density and East Coast cloud access justify the pricing and capacity competition.
Explore Northern Virginia →The four largest markets hold roughly 7.8 GW of combined inventory and answer the power, timing, network, and cost question differently. Four emerging markets answer it differently again, usually on price and speed. We cover both, and we track construction filings in most of them ourselves.
Research houses publish inventory and vacancy by market, and the four cards below carry theirs. What follows is the other half: what we have collected ourselves across every market we cover, in three layers that get progressively softer. Buildings we have verified exist, permits and planning cases filed with a county or a state, and capacity a press release has claimed. Counts and totals only. There is no export and no row-level download.
26 filings out of 2,209 state a capacity. That ratio is the point: megawatts are the field public records almost never carry, so a permit that names one is worth reading closely. The basis matters as much as the number. A figure the applicant stated for the project is a claim about the build. A generator nameplate is backup plant, and treating it as sellable load is the most common way these records get misquoted.
| Type of work | Filings | What it tells a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Tenant fit-out | 759 | A customer is being installed in a specific hall. The clearest sign a building is filling up |
| Power and cooling | 614 | Generators, substations and switchgear. Power is being solved, which is where dates slip |
| Type not stated | 595 | The record proves the filing exists and names the site, and says nothing about the work |
| New building | 161 | Shell, foundation and site work. Capacity 12 to 24 months out, not capacity now |
| Expansion or phase | 80 | An existing campus is adding to itself, which is usually the fastest space to reach |
| Market | Facilities | Operational | Under construction | Planned |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Virginia | 317 | 160 | 35 | 122 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth | 288 | 99 | 28 | 161 |
| Phoenix and Mesa | 171 | 66 | 21 | 83 |
| Chicago | 169 | 75 | 13 | 81 |
| Atlanta | 153 | 51 | 14 | 88 |
| Silicon Valley | 144 | 115 | 8 | 21 |
| Austin and San Antonio | 107 | 30 | 14 | 63 |
| New York Tri-State | 97 | 89 | 1 | 7 |
| Richmond | 80 | 10 | 10 | 59 |
| Los Angeles | 57 | 45 | 2 | 10 |
| Hillsboro and Portland | 53 | 24 | 8 | 21 |
| Columbus, Ohio | 47 | 17 | 13 | 17 |
| Houston | 44 | 33 | 2 | 9 |
| Indiana and New Carlisle | 24 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Des Moines and Council Bluffs | 14 | 7 | 1 | 6 |
| Omaha and Sarpy County | 9 | 7 | 0 | 2 |
| All markets we cover | 1,774 | 840 | 170 | 762 |
From our verified inventory rather than from a public record, so these rows carry no filing link and street addresses are held back. The building is what is verified, not the availability of space inside it: a planned facility is an intention rather than a delivery date, and an operational one may be entirely full. See what a verified building does and does not mean.
| Capacity | Operator | Market | Project |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.7 GW | Homer City Redevelopment | Pittsburgh | Homer City Energy Campus |
| 2 GW | Tract | Austin and San Antonio | Caldwell County park |
| 2 GW | xAI | Memphis | Colossus, the Memphis campus |
| 1.8 GW | PowerHouse Data Centers and Provident | Dallas-Fort Worth | DFW campus |
| 1.8 GW | Tallgrass, originally with Crusoe | Cheyenne and Laramie County | Project Jade, since renamed Project Tembo |
| 1.4 GW | OpenAI, Oracle and Related Digital | Detroit and Southeast Michigan | Stargate, Saline Township |
| 1.3 GW | Vantage Data Centers | Wisconsin | Port Washington campus, Ozaukee County |
| 1.2 GW | CloudBurst | Austin and San Antonio | San Marcos campus |
| 1 GW | ECL | Houston | TerraSite-TX1 |
| 1 GW | Not disclosed | Detroit and Southeast Michigan | Van Buren Township proposal |
| 1 GW | Eagle Rock Partners | South Carolina | Green Pond campus, Colleton County |
| 1 GW | Google, with Tenaska and Tallgrass | Omaha and Sarpy County | The proposed Nebraska mega-campus (Project Tenaska) |
| 900 MW | Undisclosed developer | Richmond | Upper Magnolia Green, Chesterfield County |
| 900 MW | Microsoft | Wisconsin | Mount Pleasant, the former Foxconn site in Racine County |
| 650 MW | Switch | Las Vegas and Reno | Citadel campus, Tahoe Reno |
| 600 MW | Skybox Datacenters and Prologis | Austin and San Antonio | PowerCampus Austin, Hutto |
| 550 MW | Yondr | Dallas-Fort Worth | Lancaster campus |
| 400 MW | Digital Realty | Charlotte | Moores Chapel campus |
| 360 MW | Pacific Proving | Phoenix and Mesa | Pacific Proving Technology Park, Mesa |
| 336 MW | NTT Global Data Centers | Prince William County | Gainesville campus |
| 324 MW | Microsoft | Atlanta | Union City campus |
| 311 MW | Big Digital Energy | Dallas-Fort Worth | Campus outside DFW |
| 300 MW | Corscale Data Centers | Prince William County | Gainesville Crossing |
| 300 MW | Rowan Digital | Austin and San Antonio | Cinco campus, Medina County |
| 249 MW | Equinix and Prologis | Seattle and Puget Sound | Three proposed data centers |
| 240 MW | NTT Global Data Centers | Phoenix and Mesa | Mesa campus |
| 220 MW | STACK Infrastructure | Dallas-Fort Worth | Dallas campus |
| 200 MW | Iron Mountain | Richmond | White Oak Technology Park, Henrico County |
| 200 MW | Novva Data Centers | Salt Lake City and the Wasatch Front | West Jordan flagship campus |
| 200 MW | QTS Data Centers | Salt Lake City and the Wasatch Front | Eagle Mountain gas plant |
| 192 MW | Vantage Data Centers | Columbus, Ohio | OH1, New Albany |
| 180 MW | Allegheny DC Property Co. | Pittsburgh | Springdale, the former Cheswick site |
| 160 MW | QTS Data Centers | Aurora | Aurora-Denver campus |
| 150 MW | Lakeland Equity Group | Cleveland, Akron and Northeast Ohio | 3560 East 55th Street, Slavic Village |
| 144 MW | STACK Infrastructure | Northern Virginia | Loudoun County Campus |
| 130 MW | Switch | Las Vegas and Reno | Tahoe Reno 1 |
| 114 MW | EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure | Northern Virginia | Ashburn campus, on Maries Road and Moran Road in Sterling |
| 108 MW | Grindcap | Atlanta | Bells Ferry Road, Marietta |
| 108 MW | Aligned Data Centers | Hillsboro and Portland | PDX-01 and PDX-02, Hillsboro |
| 100 MW | Aligned Data Centers | Chicago | ORD1, Northlake |
| 97 MW | Goodman | Silicon Valley | West Trimble Road, San Jose |
| 68 MW | Sabey Data Centers | Seattle and Puget Sound | Tukwila campus expansion |
| 60 MW | CoreSite | Denver | Denver campus expansion at 4900 Race Street |
| 50 MW | Markley Group | Boston and New England | Lowell data center |
| 50 MW | DC BLOX | Nashville | Nashville campus, Grassmere Park |
| 48 MW | Stream Data Centers | Dallas-Fort Worth | Wilmer II |
| 48 MW | Microsoft | Boydton and Mecklenburg County | Hillcrest campus, 210 Tunstall Road, north of South Hill |
| 36 MW | STACK Infrastructure | Chicago | CHI02, Elk Grove Village |
| 32 MW | Goodman Group | Los Angeles | LAX01, Vernon |
| 32 MW | Digital Realty | Los Angeles | Pacific Boulevard, Vernon |
| 30 MW | Markley Group | Boston and New England | One Summer Street |
| 26 MW | Edged Energy | Kansas City | Edged Kansas City |
| 26 MW | Not disclosed | Detroit and Southeast Michigan | Allen Park proposal |
| 22.5 MW | Flexential | Denver | Parker data center, Compark Business Campus |
| 20 MW | 5C Data Centers | Phoenix and Mesa | Phoenix facility |
| 17 MW | ViVaVerse Solutions | Houston | ViVa Center microgrid |
| 16 MW | Iron Mountain | South Florida | MIA-1 |
| 15 MW | 5C | Memphis | MEM01, the former Fred's headquarters on Getwell Road |
| 12 MW | RadiusDC | Nashville | Nashville I |
| 10 MW | Element Critical | Houston | Houston One expansion |
| 9.2 MW | RadiusDC | South Florida | Miami I expansion |
| 6 MW | Sabey Data Centers | Seattle and Puget Sound | SDC Seattle |
| 5 MW | 1623 Farnam | Omaha and Sarpy County | Second Omaha interconnection facility |
No capacity figure has been announced in New York Tri-State, Des Moines and Council Bluffs, Indiana and New Carlisle, Philadelphia, Minneapolis and Saint Paul, Central Washington. That is not a gap in our collection. Hyperscale self-builds publish dollars and square feet, and New York has paused permitting above 50 MW outright. Each market page says which applies.
Published inventory shows market scale. It does not tell you whether the right power block, density, network ecosystem, and delivery date exist for your deployment.
The deepest ecosystem and tightest vacancy. Strongest when interconnection density and East Coast cloud access justify the pricing and capacity competition.
Explore Northern Virginia →A major East Coast alternative with strong fiber, southern-suburb development potential, and long-term generation plans, but near-term supply is tight.
Explore Atlanta →The fastest-growing top-four market, with central geography and a huge construction pipeline. Power interconnection and preleasing still shape real delivery options.
Explore Dallas-Fort Worth →A central connectivity and enterprise hub with strong financial-services demand. Western submarkets are expanding, while utility delivery dates remain the central constraint.
Explore Chicago →Source: CBRE Global Data Center Trends 2026. Inventory, vacancy, availability, and growth figures are market-wide Q1 2026 research.
These markets are not ranked by inventory, because published inventory figures barely exist for them. They are covered because we collect their construction filings directly, so we can say what is being built, by whom, and when it was last filed.
Power around 40% cheaper than Northern Virginia, land at a fraction of the price, and an interconnect queue in months rather than years. Nearly all of the current build sits on a few streets in southeast Mesa.
Explore Phoenix →A hyperscale market with a thin multi-tenant layer inside it. Columbus publishes site engineering plans before building permits, which gives an earlier read on a project than most jurisdictions offer.
Explore Columbus →Two hyperscale corridors with a small colocation market between them. Cheap wind power and a genuine renewable claim, if what you need is to sit a cross-connect away from a cloud region.
Explore Iowa →The newest large market and the least legible. A supply story rather than a colocation market today, and worth watching now if you are scoping capacity two or three years out.
Explore Indiana →Filing counts are our own collection from city, county, state and federal records, current to 3 August 2026. High signal means the filing scored 50 or above on our classifier, which is the threshold where we treat it as genuine data center work. A construction filing proves something is being built. It never proves that space is available to lease.
| Decision factor | Northern Virginia | Atlanta | Dallas-Fort Worth | Chicago |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market position | Largest global market | No. 2 in the U.S. | No. 3 in the U.S. | No. 4 in the U.S. |
| Primary strength | Interconnection and ecosystem depth | East Coast scale and southern growth corridor | Central geography and rapid inventory growth | Central connectivity and enterprise ecosystem |
| Current tension | 0.3% vacancy and limited large sites | 1% vacancy and tighter large-load rules | Power interconnection and heavy preleasing | Extended utility timelines and rising rents |
| Expansion direction | South on I-95 toward Richmond | Southern Atlanta suburbs | South along I-35 | West to Elk Grove, Northlake, and Hoffman Estates |
| Buyer takeaway | Pay for ecosystem value when the workload uses it | Test near-term supply before assuming new generation solves the date | Separate announced pipeline from deliverable capacity | Secure existing power or treat delivery dates as a gating item |
The right market is the one that meets the workload's latency, connectivity, risk, staffing, compliance, and budget requirements with a credible delivery path. Market rank alone should not decide it.
A second market is not only a fallback. It creates leverage, exposes hidden requirements, and shows the real cost of choosing ecosystem depth, geographic proximity, or faster delivery.
Market choice is usually a bigger lever than provider choice. These are the published figures that distinguish them, on one basis, so the comparison is real rather than impressionistic. The emerging four are not in this table because published research does not cover them on the same basis, and inventing the cells would defeat the purpose.
| Measure | N. Virginia | Atlanta | Dallas | Chicago |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inventory | 4,182.0 MW | 1,459.2 MW | 1,249.4 MW | Fourth largest |
| Vacancy | 0.3% | 1.0% | 2.4% | Not published |
| Asking rent, 250 to 500 kW | $190 to $235 | Below average | Below average | $200 to $230 |
| Rent change | Not published | Up 2% | Unchanged | Up 14.7% |
| Under construction | 96% committed | 2,076 MW | About 700 MW | Constrained by queue |
| Industrial power | $0.095 to $0.13 | Below coastal | About $0.0972 | About $0.069 |
| Interconnect outlook | 4 to 6 years | Staged over years | Transmission bound | To 2031 in cases |
Sources: CBRE Global Data Center Trends 2026, CBRE on Northern Virginia, CBRE on Atlanta and the CBRE Dallas-Fort Worth profile. Rents are per kW per month for a 250 to 500 kW requirement. Where CBRE publishes no numeric figure for a market, the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate. Power and queue figures are market reported and vary by substation. Full sourcing on the pricing benchmarks page.
Chicago has the cheapest power of the four and the most expensive space. Northern Virginia has the most expensive power and the tightest availability. Dallas has cheap power, the loosest availability and flat rents. Those are three genuinely different propositions, and none of them is explained by the rate alone. Read the rate and the interconnect outlook together.
| If your priority is | Start with | Because |
|---|---|---|
| Maximum carrier and cloud choice | Northern Virginia | The densest interconnection ecosystem in the world |
| Lowest power cost at scale | Dallas | Roughly 23% below the national average |
| Rate predictability on a long term | Dallas or Atlanta | Unchanged and up 2% respectively, against 14.7% in Chicago |
| Large contiguous blocks | Atlanta or Dallas | The two largest active pipelines relative to market size |
| Central US latency and financial networks | Chicago | Carrier hotel depth and geographic position |
| Fastest realistic power date | Dallas or Atlanta | Northern Virginia and Chicago both carry multiyear queues |
| Southeast user proximity | Atlanta | Second-largest market with strong regional fiber |
| Lowest cost per kW, network depth not required | Phoenix | Cheap power, cheap land, and an interconnect queue measured in months |
| Sitting a cross-connect from a cloud region | Iowa | Two hyperscale corridors, with a documentable renewable claim |
| Midwest compute at low operating cost | Columbus | Long utility track record, if the multi-tenant layer has room |
| Planning capacity for 2028 and later | Indiana | A market forming quickly, cheapest to enter early |
If more than one row applies to you, the requirement is probably two deployments rather than one, and splitting network-facing capacity from bulk compute is often cheaper than forcing both into a single market.
Seven markets sit outside the two groups above, either because published research does not cover them on the same basis or because they answer a narrower question. Each has a full guide, with the facilities we track and, where a collector reaches them, the public filing record.
Northern Virginia's overflow, on the same utility. Fifty nine of its eighty facilities are still planned, and Henrico now requires a use permit for every one of them.
The one market here where most of the inventory is already standing. Enterprise scale, Gulf Coast demand, and two buildings under construction.
Bought by the cross-connect rather than the megawatt. Twenty nine operators, almost no room, and growth that arrives by converting industrial buildings.
The most constrained market in the country. Expansion of standing campuses rather than new ground, and the sharpest availability question anywhere.
Latency and finance, with the state's permitting paused above 50 MW since July 2026. The constraint here is regulatory, not commercial.
Cheap hydro power and the trans-Pacific cable landings, in a market small enough that two operators saying no ends a search.
The largest announced pipeline of any market on this site, and very little of it built. A planning market, not a buying one.
Twelve more markets have a full guide, and they carry a caveat the fifteen above do not. No permit collector reaches them and our facility inventory does not extend to them, so what you get is the interconnection record, the announced capacity we could verify in its own source, and the regulatory position. That is thinner, and saying so is the point: five of these twelve are markets where a jurisdiction has stopped taking data center applications.
New data centers above 20 MVA are banned inside the city for a year, and the utility policy that bites hardest applies well past the city line.
A latency and subsea cable market, not a capacity one. The largest project under construction anywhere in the metro is 16 MW.
The city stopped accepting data center zoning applications in May 2026 for a year. The build that matters is in Aurora, on the other side of the line.
The one Front Range city still taking applications, and it decided that by a single vote in August 2026. Colorado's only campus above 100 MW is here, and so is a 1.5 million square foot case still in review.
Two states, a January 2026 zoning rewrite that demands utility will-serve letters, and a ten billion dollar Google campus with no published megawatt figure.
One interconnected building, 85 feet inside a limestone mine. Bluebird publishes 6 MW of backup generation, not IT capacity, and the distinction is the market.
The utility could not serve the largest campus in the state until 2031, so operators are building their own power stations. State law now formalises that.
Not one data center has been proposed inside the city. The carrier hotel on North Broad Street is the market, and the capacity went to Bucks County.
One operator holds the market, its largest building is under a municipal construction ban, and utilities hold 2 GW of requests against 188 MW built.
Forty three megawatts built across the whole state against 1,120 megawatts planned, and one downtown building holding two in five of the metro's networks.
The utility has been asked for 5,900 megawatts, and Reno has paused new approvals until August 2027. Four milliseconds from Los Angeles is still the reason to be here.
A 1.4 gigawatt campus is now ahead of you in DTE's queue, while the colocation market itself sits on one road in Southfield.
These three are newer than most of our collection. No permit collector is pointed at them, the facility inventory does not extend to them, and their cities are not yet on the interconnection list, so they are counted nowhere rather than counted wrongly. What each guide does carry is the announced capacity, verified the same way as everywhere else, and the thing that differs most between the three and is least visible in a quote: how electricity is actually bought. One has no retail supplier to shop, one buys from a federal corporation through a municipal utility, and one splits the bill between a regulated wires company and a competitive supplier. That single difference changes what an operator in each is able to promise you.
A 400 MW campus approved in the west of the city, in a state with no retail electricity choice and no regional transmission organisation. The terms that move your bill are argued in a utility docket, not in your deal.
Data centers over 500,000 square feet are now banned in Davidson County, and power comes from a federal corporation resold by a municipal utility or a cooperative.
The 4,500 MW headline is a power plant rating; about 3,700 MW of it is for data centers, fifty miles east of the city. Underneath sits a modest enterprise market inside PJM.
These three carry three of our four collections: the public construction record, the interconnection register and the announced capacity, each verified the same way as everywhere else. What they do not carry is our facility inventory, which does not extend to them, so none of them shows a building count and none shows a zero standing in for one. They also have something in common that matters more than any figure below. In all three, the largest number attached to the market belongs to something nobody can lease, and the market a buyer can actually reach is the smaller one underneath it.
Two gigawatts of announced compute, all of it one company's own training campus. The leasable market underneath is thirteen building permits, two of which state a capacity in the filing text, and four interconnected buildings.
Microsoft is named on three of the four air permits we hold. The 1.8 GW campus proposed south of the city has changed developer and name once already and does not expect to serve anyone until 2028.
Four separate markets inside one state, seven interconnected buildings between them, and two counties that have imposed data center moratoriums since December 2025, with a third under the same pressure.
These arrived on 3 September 2026 and they are deliberately uneven. One is an interconnection market with no construction, one is a construction market with no interconnection, and one has almost nothing a buyer can lease at all. None of them carries our facility inventory, so none shows a building count and none shows a zero standing in for one. Reading what a market lacks is usually more useful than reading what it has, so each card below leads with the gap.
Twenty interconnected buildings across four cities, more than any market we had not written about, and essentially no construction pipeline. The one hyperscale campus anyone proposed was refused its permit nine days after filing. Also the market where the Ohio data center tariff everyone quotes does not apply, because that is AEP territory and this is FirstEnergy.
Three of the largest self-build campuses in the country, none of it leasable, and seventeen interconnected buildings that are. Two of our three permit filings here are shell companies: DEGAS LLC is Meta and WI-1 is Vantage. The interconnection is in Madison and Milwaukee, nowhere near any of the campuses.
Where Virginia's data center tax exemption began in 2008, and after sixteen years it has one occupant. Two Microsoft air permits, both filed on the same day, and not one interconnected building anywhere in Southern Virginia. Our thinnest market page, and it says so.
Market-level figures set expectations. They do not decide a deployment, and treating them as if they do produces confident plans that fail at the facility level.
Use these figures to choose which two or three markets to test, then verify at the facility level. See how we verify capacity for what that confirmation involves.
10 to 100+ kW racks, liquid cooling and AI cluster readiness.
Secure four to 20-rack footprints with expansion planning.
Private suites and power blocks from 250 kW to 5 MW.
A free checklist, and a spreadsheet template for a comparable provider response.
A scout can turn one requirement into a normalized search across the markets that can realistically serve it.