How much does colocation cost in Silicon Valley?
Recent quotes we received for California ran $350 to $400 per kW per month for up to 500 kW, falling to $220 to $260 above 1 MW. CBRE's published asking band for Silicon Valley is $200 to $275 per kW per month for 250+ kW, N+1/Tier III.
| Deployment | Monthly rate | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 500 kW | $350 to $400/kW-mo | Our quotes |
| Over 500 kW to 1 MW | $280 to $320/kW-mo | Our quotes |
| Over 1 MW | $220 to $260/kW-mo | Our quotes |
| 250+ kW, N+1/Tier III, asking rent | $200 to $275/kW-mo | CBRE, North America Data Center Trends H1 2026, first half of 2026 |
Smaller deployments cost more per kW. These are recent quotes we received, not a statement that space is available. Cross-connects, remote hands and one-time setup are extra. Operators often give 2–3 free months on a new term. See every region's quote ranges.
Silicon Valley cabinet and cage requirements
For a Santa Clara or San Jose deployment, price every cross-connect and confirm the usable power in the specific hall. A regional per-kW range is a starting point; it does not include every cabinet, network or setup charge.
| Requirement | Quote basis | Include in the comparison |
|---|---|---|
| 1 to 2U or a partial cabinet | Rack units, usable power and bandwidth allocation | Access, remote hands and transfer limits |
| Full cabinet | Usable kW, circuit arrangement and contract term | Power billing, setup and monthly cross-connect charges |
| High-density cabinet | Usable kW per rack and the approved cooling design | Engineering approval, cooling charges and delivery date |
| Private cage | Rack count, total usable kW and expansion space | Cloud on-ramps, cross-connects and expansion rights |
Ask the operator to itemize electricity, taxes, bandwidth, cross-connects, remote hands and one-time charges. See how colocation power is billed.
Get Silicon Valley colocation prices for your setup
Tell us the racks, power and timing you need. A scout comes back with matching Silicon Valley options and quoted prices.

What providers in Silicon Valley post as a list price
Most colocation in Silicon Valley is quoted, not posted. The provider below is the exception: it publishes a monthly price on its own website, and every row links to that page. It is a smaller regional operator. The large operators here do not publish prices at all, so read these as a floor and a sanity check, not as what an enterprise contract lands at.
| Monthly | Provider | Offer | Power included | Per usable kW | Bandwidth |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| $600 | Hurricane Electric | Full cabinet, 42U. Fremont, California. Promotion, one per customer | Included, rating not stated | Power not stated | 1 Gbps |
Each price was read on the provider's own page on the date shown. Usable kW is 80% of the circuit rating, with a redundant A+B pair counted once, and is only worked out where the provider states both amps and volts. "From" is the provider's own word for a starting price. Providers whose networks carry spam or abuse flags are left out whatever their price. A posted price is not availability, and bundles differ in bandwidth and power, so compare the whole row rather than the first column. How power is billed is covered in how colocation power is billed.
Send it over and a scout will tell you how it compares with these posted prices and with the published benchmarks for this market. There is no obligation.
Power and delivery: what the operators actually offer
Hurricane Electric's $600 promotion above is a Fremont offer within this guide's wider Bay Area coverage. Its public price includes power but leaves the circuit rating unstated. The provider separately offers custom 208V, 20A or 30A configurations and A/B power at Fremont 2; those options are not established as part of the $600 bundle.
| Operator and location | Published detail | What to confirm in the quote |
|---|---|---|
| Hurricane Electric, Fremont | Advertises same-day service setup. Custom power options include 208V, 20A or 30A, single- or three-phase. | The circuit, usable kW and redundancy included in the price, plus whether your configuration can meet that timing. |
| OpenColo by American Cloud, Santa Clara | Says most deployments go live within weeks. Lists 2N power, 30A single-phase, 30A three-phase and 60A three-phase options, with month-to-month terms. | Voltage, usable kW, cooling support, cross-connect delivery and the agreed installation date. No cabinet price is published on its facility page. |
| CoreSite SV9, Santa Clara | Announced completion of more than 228,000 square feet at 2915 Stender Way on July 30, 2025, with NVIDIA DGX-Ready certification. | Available space and power in the proposed hall. Building completion does not establish an available cabinet or move-in date. |
Sources: Hurricane Electric's colocation page and power FAQ, OpenColo by American Cloud's Santa Clara facility page, and CoreSite's July 30, 2025 SV9 completion announcement. These are operator statements, not reserved inventory or guaranteed lead times. Ask for a written ready-for-service date covering power, cooling and network connections.
Who is actually plugged in across Silicon Valley
A building existing and a building being connected are different facts, and only one of them decides whether your traffic can get where it needs to go cheaply. These figures come from PeeringDB, which the network operators themselves maintain, so every row below links to the building's own public entry.
| Measure | Figure | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Buildings listed | 69 | Registered in PeeringDB across Silicon Valley, by 35 operators |
| Buildings with a network present | 51 | 18 carry no network presence, which usually means single tenant or simply unregistered |
| Network presences | 1,140 | Counted per building, so a carrier in three buildings counts three times |
| Internet exchange presences | 78 | Where you can reach many networks through one port instead of many cross-connects |
| Carrier presences | 46 | The physical transport choice you can buy without leaving the building |
| In the densest building | 26% | Hurricane Electric Fremont 2 holds 302 of the market's network presences |
The most connected buildings here
| Networks | Building | Operator | Exchanges | Carriers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 302 | Hurricane Electric Fremont 2 | Hurricane Electric | 13 | 2 |
| 283 | Equinix SV1/SV5/SV10 - Silicon Valley, San Jose | Equinix, Inc. | 8 | 7 |
| 66 | Equinix SV8 - Silicon Valley, Palo Alto | Equinix, Inc. | 4 | 2 |
| 56 | CoreSite - San Jose (SV1) | CoreSite | 3 | 4 |
| 44 | Digital Realty SFO (200 Paul) | Digital Realty | 2 | 2 |
| 41 | Hurricane Electric Fremont 1 | Hurricane Electric | 3 | 0 |
| 35 | Digital Realty SFO (365 Main) | Digital Realty | 2 | 2 |
| 25 | OpenColo | Energy Group Networks LLC | 3 | 0 |
From PeeringDB, which is maintained by the network operators present in these buildings rather than by the landlords, which is what makes it worth more than a directory. Two limits. Entries are voluntary, so a building showing no networks may be single tenant or may simply never have registered. And a network being present says nothing about whether the building has space, power or a price for you: that is still a call.
Every Silicon Valley facility we track
144 data centers across Silicon Valley, from our verified inventory. It is the layer that says whether a building exists yet, which no permit record answers directly.
| Status | Facilities | What it means for a search |
|---|---|---|
| Operational | 115 | Standing and running. The only layer that can hold a requirement this year |
| Under construction | 8 | Steel is up. Reachable for a date 6 to 18 months out, and usually pre-leasing now |
| Planned | 21 | Announced or entitled, not yet built. Treat every date on these as a forecast |
| Building area on file | 19,134,157 SF | Across the 126 facilities where a size is recorded, of 144 |
| Largest single building | 703,450 SF | CyrusOne, Santa Clara |
Operators with the most facilities here: Digital Realty (24), Equinix (17), Vantage Data Centers (11), CoreSite (10), Csquare (8), Prime Data Centers (7), STACK Infrastructure (6), Evocative (5), Prologis (5), NTT Global Data Centers (4).
Where they cluster: Santa Clara (73), San Jose (33), Sunnyvale (7), San Francisco (6), Fremont (4), Rancho Cordova (4).
The largest buildings coming to this market
29 facilities here are under construction or planned. These are the ten largest by floor area, and a size on file is not a promise of a delivery date.
| Operator | Status | Building size | Where |
|---|---|---|---|
| CyrusOne | Planned | 703,450 SF | Santa Clara, CA |
| STACK Infrastructure | Under Construction | 560,440 SF | Santa Clara, CA |
| Valley Oak Partners | Planned | 490,000 SF | Fremont, CA |
| Vantage Data Centers | Planned | 483,000 SF | Santa Clara, CA |
| Digital Realty | Planned | 480,000 SF | Santa Clara, CA |
| Digital Realty | Under Construction | 430,000 SF | Santa Clara, CA |
| AVAIO Digital | Planned | 347,740 SF | Pittsburg, CA |
| STACK Infrastructure | Planned | 302,182 SF | San Jose, CA |
| STACK Infrastructure | Under Construction | 220,012 SF | San Jose, CA |
| Prime Data Centers | Under Construction | 207,000 SF | Santa Clara, CA |
From our verified inventory rather than from a public record, so these rows carry no filing link and street addresses are held back. These buildings are verified, which is not the same as their space being available: every facility above may be full, pre-leased, or closed to your size. Finding out is a call, not a lookup. See what a verified building does and does not mean.
What the official project records show
San Jose's planning records and California Energy Commission proceedings identify proposed projects and the approvals they still need. They help explain future supply; they do not show space ready to lease.
| Project | Official record | Stage and capacity basis |
|---|---|---|
| Great Oaks, 5601 Great Oaks Parkway | City case PD26-007, filed August 10, 2026: a proposed 444,436-square-foot, 72 MW data center with an on-site substation. | Planning application under review. The record does not establish construction approval or sellable IT capacity. |
| Silver Creek, 5977 Silver Creek Valley Road | CEC docket 26-SPPE-02: Prologis proposes 44 generators providing up to 99 MW of backup electricity. | Small power plant exemption under review. The 99 MW describes backup generation, not available tenant power. |
| NorthTown, West Trimble Road and Orchard Parkway | CEC docket 25-SPPE-02: GIC San Jose proposes 42 generators providing up to 97.3 MW of backup electricity. | Small power plant exemption under review. The 97.3 MW is backup generation, not an IT-capacity offer. |
The CEC explains that an exemption is not the final approval needed for construction or operation: local land-use and other permitting requirements still apply. For the filing history and geographic coverage, see the Silicon Valley permit report.
H1 2026 market profileWhy Silicon Valley still commands a premium
Private peering, cloud connections and proximity to Bay Area users make the exact building part of the architecture decision. CBRE reports that demand continues to outpace new supply, while power constraints and limited development sites slow new capacity.
509.2 MW
Market inventory in the first half of 2026.
4.2% vacancy
CBRE's market-wide measure; it does not identify space available for your deployment.
22 MW absorbed
Net absorption during the first half of 2026.
144 MW building
Under construction, with delivery and leasing status specific to each project.
Source: CBRE's Silicon Valley H1 2026 findings. Figures describe the metro market, not a specific facility.
What changes the total Silicon Valley colocation cost
CBRE reports asking rents of $200 to $275 per kW per month for the first half of 2026. That benchmark and our California regional quotes above have different coverage. Compare the power commitment, facility, term and included services before applying either range to a specific deployment.
- Confirm whether the quote covers energized space or a future phase.
- Ask how electricity is billed and which utility adjustments pass through.
- Price cross-connects, transit and cloud ports alongside the cabinet or cage.
- Write the expansion option and delivery obligations into the agreement.
CBRE's market analysis identifies power constraints, preleasing and expansion rights as key leasing considerations.
When Silicon Valley is the right answer
Silicon Valley is a strong fit when the workload depends on private peering, a measured latency target to Bay Area users, a specific cloud connection, or a partner's cross-connect in Santa Clara. Test those requirements against the actual building and network paths before deciding what premium is justified.
If proximity to headquarters is the main reason for choosing the market, compare quotes from Sacramento and Reno for the same power and network requirements. Include Hillsboro when Pacific Northwest routing matters more than Bay Area peering; verify latency and connectivity rather than assuming the alternatives are interchangeable.
Risks to resolve before shortlisting
- Power allocation: confirm the utility serving the building, the power already allocated to your hall and any energization dependency.
- Rack density: obtain the hall's supported power and cooling per cabinet, including approval for your proposed equipment.
- Expansion: new capacity can be committed before delivery. Confirm expansion rights in the contract.
- Seismic and permitting: ask which installation approvals your buildout requires and who owns the schedule.
- Future charges: compare the contract escalator and utility pass-through separately, including how either can change at renewal.
A facility-ready Silicon Valley brief
- Committed power, density per cabinet, and cooling method.
- Every cross-connect and the partner on the other end of it.
- Latency targets to named user populations and cloud regions.
- Whether the requirement can split across two buildings, and at what cost.
- Term, escalator, renewal rate and utility pass-through mechanics.
- The comparison market you would accept if the premium fails the test.
Get a Silicon Valley quote and a Reno or Phoenix quote for the same requirement in the same week. The gap is the price of the ecosystem. If nobody can explain what you get for it, you have your answer.
What has been announced in Silicon Valley
Announcements are not filings. Nobody has to build what they announce, the figure is the one the developer chose to publish, and the date moves. They are here because megawatts are what a requirement is measured in, and because the size of what is coming changes who will take your call. Every figure below links to a published report that states it, and was checked against at least one other independent report before it was written down.
| Capacity | Operator | Project | What was announced |
|---|---|---|---|
| 97 MW | Goodman | West Trimble Road, San Jose | 45.8 acres, two buildings, 414,000 SF, power available by 2028 |
CBRE identifies power constraints, limited development sites and preleasing as factors shaping new supply. Projects include campus expansions and proposed new sites. The planning and backup-generation records on this page describe approval stages, not commissioned capacity or space available to lease. Read the reporting.
Announced capacity is collected by hand from trade reporting and company statements, and each figure links to the report it came from. It is never added to a permit count: a permit is a document a jurisdiction issued, an announcement is a plan a company published. Neither is availability.