What is in the record today
Every figure on this page is a count of records we pulled ourselves from a government portal. None of it is bought, and none of it is a vendor's marketing claim. Counts are deduplicated, because several counties issue a building record and a zoning record for the same work and counting both would inflate every market on this page by roughly half.
Every capacity figure in the record
29 filings out of 2,556 state a capacity. That ratio is the point: megawatts are the field public records almost never carry, so a permit that names one is worth reading closely. The basis matters as much as the number. A figure the applicant stated for the project is a claim about the build. A generator nameplate is backup plant, and treating it as sellable load is the most common way these records get misquoted.
What the filings are for
| Type of work | Filings | What it tells a buyer |
|---|---|---|
| Type not stated | 788 | The record proves the filing exists and names the site, and says nothing about the work |
| Tenant fit-out | 784 | A customer is being installed in a specific hall. The clearest sign a building is filling up |
| Power and cooling | 708 | Generators, substations and switchgear. Power is being solved, which is where dates slip |
| New building | 187 | Shell, foundation and site work. Capacity 12 to 24 months out, not capacity now |
| Expansion or phase | 89 | An existing campus is adding to itself, which is usually the fastest space to reach |
Every facility we track, market by market
The permit record above says what is being built. It cannot say what is already standing, because a building that opened in 2019 stopped generating filings years ago. That question is answered by our verified inventory, which covers North America and is the second half of this page.
These rows carry no source link, and that difference is deliberate rather than an oversight. The permit counts are public record and you can open every one of them yourself. The facility counts are our verified inventory, which we can show you and will not hand over as a file, and street addresses are held back for the same reason.
| Market | Facilities | Operational | Under construction | Planned |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northern Virginia | 317 | 160 | 35 | 122 |
| Dallas-Fort Worth | 288 | 99 | 28 | 161 |
| Phoenix and Mesa | 171 | 66 | 21 | 83 |
| Chicago | 169 | 75 | 13 | 81 |
| Atlanta | 153 | 51 | 14 | 88 |
| Silicon Valley | 144 | 115 | 8 | 21 |
| Austin and San Antonio | 107 | 30 | 14 | 63 |
| New York Tri-State | 97 | 89 | 1 | 7 |
| Richmond | 80 | 10 | 10 | 59 |
| Los Angeles | 57 | 45 | 2 | 10 |
| Hillsboro and Portland | 53 | 24 | 8 | 21 |
| Columbus, Ohio | 47 | 17 | 13 | 17 |
| Houston | 44 | 33 | 2 | 9 |
| Indiana and New Carlisle | 24 | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Des Moines and Council Bluffs | 14 | 7 | 1 | 6 |
| Omaha and Sarpy County | 9 | 7 | 0 | 2 |
| All markets we cover | 1,774 | 840 | 170 | 762 |
From our verified inventory rather than from a public record, so these rows carry no filing link and street addresses are held back. The building is what is verified, not the availability of space inside it: a planned facility is an intention rather than a delivery date, and an operational one may be entirely full. See what a verified building does and does not mean.
What has been announced, and why it is the softest layer
The permit record says what a jurisdiction has issued. The facility database says what exists. Neither carries megawatts at any scale, because counties rarely publish capacity and our facility inventory does not hold it. Announcements do, which is why they are here, and they are the weakest evidence on this page.
Nobody has to build what they announce. The figure is the one the developer chose to publish, the date moves, and the largest announced project in Northern Virginia is now a void rezoning with no buildings on it. Read this table as a map of intent and ambition, not of supply.
| Capacity | Operator | Market | Project |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3.7 GW | Homer City Redevelopment | Pittsburgh | Homer City Energy Campus |
| 2.4 GW | TPG Real Estate and Catellus | Frederick County, Maryland | Quantum Frederick, the former Alcoa Eastalco Works site, Adamstown |
| 2 GW | Tract | Austin and San Antonio | Caldwell County park |
| 2 GW | xAI | Memphis | Colossus, the Memphis campus |
| 1.8 GW | PowerHouse Data Centers and Provident | Dallas-Fort Worth | DFW campus |
| 1.8 GW | Tallgrass, originally with Crusoe | Cheyenne and Laramie County | Project Jade, since renamed Project Tembo |
| 1.4 GW | OpenAI, Oracle and Related Digital | Detroit and Southeast Michigan | Stargate, Saline Township |
| 1.3 GW | Vantage Data Centers | Wisconsin | Port Washington campus, Ozaukee County |
| 1.2 GW | CloudBurst | Austin and San Antonio | San Marcos campus |
| 1 GW | ECL | Houston | TerraSite-TX1 |
| 1 GW | Not disclosed | Detroit and Southeast Michigan | Van Buren Township proposal |
| 1 GW | Eagle Rock Partners | South Carolina | Green Pond campus, Colleton County |
| 1 GW | Google, with Tenaska and Tallgrass | Omaha and Sarpy County | The proposed Nebraska mega-campus (Project Tenaska) |
| 900 MW | Undisclosed developer | Richmond | Upper Magnolia Green, Chesterfield County |
| 900 MW | Microsoft | Wisconsin | Mount Pleasant, the former Foxconn site in Racine County |
| 650 MW | Switch | Las Vegas and Reno | Citadel campus, Tahoe Reno |
| 600 MW | Skybox Datacenters and Prologis | Austin and San Antonio | PowerCampus Austin, Hutto |
| 550 MW | Yondr | Dallas-Fort Worth | Lancaster campus |
| 400 MW | Digital Realty | Charlotte | Moores Chapel campus |
| 360 MW | Pacific Proving | Phoenix and Mesa | Pacific Proving Technology Park, Mesa |
| 360 MW | Atmosphere Data Centers | Montgomery County, Maryland | Dickerson Generating Station, northern Montgomery County |
| 336 MW | NTT Global Data Centers | Prince William County | Gainesville campus |
| 324 MW | Microsoft | Atlanta | Union City campus |
| 311 MW | Big Digital Energy | Dallas-Fort Worth | Campus outside DFW |
| 300 MW | Corscale Data Centers | Prince William County | Gainesville Crossing |
| 300 MW | Rowan Digital | Austin and San Antonio | Cinco campus, Medina County |
| 250 MW | Prologis | Cincinnati and Dayton | Project Mila, Trenton Industrial Park, Butler County |
| 249 MW | Equinix and Prologis | Seattle and Puget Sound | Three proposed data centers |
| 240 MW | NTT Global Data Centers | Phoenix and Mesa | Mesa campus |
| 231 MW | Rowan Digital Infrastructure | Frederick County, Maryland | Bauxite campus, Quantum Frederick |
| 220 MW | STACK Infrastructure | Dallas-Fort Worth | Dallas campus |
| 200 MW | Iron Mountain | Richmond | White Oak Technology Park, Henrico County |
| 200 MW | Novva Data Centers | Salt Lake City and the Wasatch Front | West Jordan flagship campus |
| 200 MW | QTS Data Centers | Salt Lake City and the Wasatch Front | Eagle Mountain gas plant |
| 192 MW | Vantage Data Centers | Columbus, Ohio | OH1, New Albany |
| 180 MW | Allegheny DC Property Co. | Pittsburgh | Springdale, the former Cheswick site |
| 160 MW | QTS Data Centers | Aurora | Aurora-Denver campus |
| 150 MW | Lakeland Equity Group | Cleveland, Akron and Northeast Ohio | 3560 East 55th Street, Slavic Village |
| 144 MW | STACK Infrastructure | Northern Virginia | Loudoun County Campus |
| 130 MW | Switch | Las Vegas and Reno | Tahoe Reno 1 |
| 120 MW | TerraWatt, with Contour and Steadfast City | St. Louis | Armory Innovation District, the former Famous-Barr warehouse at 3728 Market Street |
| 114 MW | EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure | Northern Virginia | Ashburn campus, on Maries Road and Moran Road in Sterling |
| 108 MW | Grindcap | Atlanta | Bells Ferry Road, Marietta |
| 108 MW | Aligned Data Centers | Hillsboro and Portland | PDX-01 and PDX-02, Hillsboro |
| 100 MW | Aligned Data Centers | Chicago | ORD1, Northlake |
| 100 MW | Core Scientific and CoreWeave | Oklahoma | MSK1, Port of Muskogee |
| 97 MW | Goodman | Silicon Valley | West Trimble Road, San Jose |
| 72 MW | Aligned Data Centers | Frederick County, Maryland | IAD-06, Quantum Frederick |
| 68 MW | Sabey Data Centers | Seattle and Puget Sound | Tukwila campus expansion |
| 60 MW | CoreSite | Denver | Denver campus expansion at 4900 Race Street |
| 50 MW | Markley Group | Boston and New England | Lowell data center |
| 50 MW | DC BLOX | Nashville | Nashville campus, Grassmere Park |
| 48 MW | Stream Data Centers | Dallas-Fort Worth | Wilmer II |
| 48 MW | Microsoft | Boydton and Mecklenburg County | Hillcrest campus, 210 Tunstall Road, north of South Hill |
| 36 MW | STACK Infrastructure | Chicago | CHI02, Elk Grove Village |
| 32 MW | Goodman Group | Los Angeles | LAX01, Vernon |
| 32 MW | Digital Realty | Los Angeles | Pacific Boulevard, Vernon |
| 30 MW | Markley Group | Boston and New England | One Summer Street |
| 26 MW | Edged Energy | Kansas City | Edged Kansas City |
| 26 MW | Not disclosed | Detroit and Southeast Michigan | Allen Park proposal |
| 22.5 MW | Flexential | Denver | Parker data center, Compark Business Campus |
| 20 MW | 5C Data Centers | Phoenix and Mesa | Phoenix facility |
| 17 MW | ViVaVerse Solutions | Houston | ViVa Center microgrid |
| 16 MW | Iron Mountain | South Florida | MIA-1 |
| 15 MW | 5C | Memphis | MEM01, the former Fred's headquarters on Getwell Road |
| 12 MW | RadiusDC | Nashville | Nashville I |
| 10 MW | Element Critical | Houston | Houston One expansion |
| 10 MW | Cerebras and Scale Datacenters | Oklahoma | Oklahoma City, an 82,000 sq ft conversion |
| 9.2 MW | RadiusDC | South Florida | Miami I expansion |
| 6 MW | Sabey Data Centers | Seattle and Puget Sound | SDC Seattle |
| 5 MW | 1623 Farnam | Omaha and Sarpy County | Second Omaha interconnection facility |
| 5 MW | DC BLOX | Alabama | Montgomery, Interstate Industrial Park at Hope Hull |
| 5 MW | DC BLOX | Alabama | Huntsville, a second site alongside the existing HSV1 |
No capacity figure has been announced in New York Tri-State, Des Moines and Council Bluffs, Indiana and New Carlisle, Philadelphia, Minneapolis and Saint Paul, Central Washington. That is not a gap in our collection. Hyperscale self-builds publish dollars and square feet, and New York has paused permitting above 50 MW outright. Each market page says which applies.
How to read a permit like a buyer
The value is not in the total. It is in which kind of filing is moving, because the four types answer completely different questions.
Tenant fit-out
Someone is installing a customer in a named hall of a building that already stands. This is the only filing type that says a specific building is filling up, and it is the one worth acting on this quarter.
Power and cooling
Generators, substations, switchgear. Power is the thing that slips dates, so a substation filed alongside a campus means the hard problem was solved early. No filing means it was not.
New building
Shell, foundation, site work. Real capacity, 12 to 24 months out. Useful for planning a second site, useless for a requirement that lands this year.
Expansion or phase
A campus adding to itself. Usually the fastest space to reach, because the power, the fiber and the operating staff are already there.
What this record cannot tell you
It is worth being blunt about the limit, because a number quoted out of context is a liability in a sales conversation.
- A permit is not availability. No public document anywhere discloses what is contractible at a named building. That number comes from an operator call, and it changes weekly.
- A permit is not megawatts. Most jurisdictions publish square footage and valuation. Very few publish IT load, and the ones that publish generator ratings are describing backup, not capacity.
- The applicant is usually not the operator. Filings name engineers, general contractors and single-purpose holding companies. Only the ones on the record by a recognizable name are published as operators here, and the rest are counted as unnamed.
- Coverage is uneven by design. Some counties publish a live permit feed, some publish nothing machine readable at all. We collect where a source exists and say so where one does not, rather than filling gaps with estimates.
It is proof of ground truth, not a product. If we can show you what was filed in your market last month and who filed it, the question of whether we know the market answers itself. The space itself still comes from picking up the phone, because that is the only place it exists.
Markets we do not collect filings in yet
Chicago, Silicon Valley, Hillsboro and Portland, and the New York Tri-State area carry the facility layer but no permit collection. Their construction record comes from published research instead, which is stated on each page. A market gets a permit collector when a probe shows the portal is machine readable, publishes a usable work description, and yields real filings from the last 24 months. Sources that fail that test are written down as dead ends rather than quietly retried.
The nearest thing to a listings answer is still a call. If your requirement is in a market below, we will tell you what the record shows and what it does not, and then go ask the operators the part that is not written down anywhere.