Colocation Scout / News & Analysis

Anne Arundel County passes a data center moratorium that stops new applications but lets filed plans and adjacent expansions proceed

The Anne Arundel County Council passed Bill 63-26 by a 7-0 vote on October 5, 2026, according to the county's legislation page. [Source 1] The amended bill text posted by the county bars the county from accepting new applications of any type for a proposed data storage center during an Effective Period that runs from the bill's effective date until the earlier of January 31, 2028 or the effective date of comprehensive rules based on a work group's recommendations. Plans filed before that period begins, and future phases of existing data centers on adjacent or adjoining properties, may proceed. [Source 2] The bill also repeals the county's personal property tax assessment reduction for qualified data storage centers. [Source 1]

Anne Arundel County passes a data center moratorium that stops new applications but lets filed plans and adjacent expansions proceed
All news & analysisDevelopment & PowerAnne Arundel County, MarylandApproved. Bill 63-26 passed by the Anne Arundel County Council, 7-0, on October 5, 2026; moratorium runs from the effective date to the earlier of January 31, 2028 or comprehensive rules. Effective date not stated on the county page. As of October 12, 2026.

Disclosed terms

Vote
Passed 7-0 on October 5, 2026 [1]
Moratorium end
Earlier of January 31, 2028 or comprehensive rules based on the work group [2]
Exempt cases
Plans filed before the moratorium and future phases of existing data centers on adjacent or adjoining properties [2]
Work group report
Due within ten months of the effective date [2]

The disclosure and our analysis

Evidence dates

Evidence: Anne Arundel County legislation page for Bill 63-26, showing passage on October 5, 2026, viewed October 12, 2026; Bill 63-26 text as amended September 21, 2026, viewed October 12, 2026; county fiscal note dated August 11, 2026; WMAR-2 News report on the October 5 vote.

What the county record shows

**Vote:** Passed October 5, 2026, 7 yes and 0 no. The page lists the bill as amended on September 21, 2026 and introduced July 20, 2026. [Source 1]

**Moratorium:** During the Effective Period the county "shall not accept any new applications of any type" for a proposed data storage center. The Effective Period ends on the earlier of January 31, 2028 or the effective date of legislation based on the work group's recommendations that comprehensively regulates data storage centers. [Source 2]

**What can still move:** Preliminary plan, site development plan, sketch plan, modification and final plan applications filed before the Effective Period begins may proceed, along with related applications filed later and future phases of any existing data storage center on adjacent or adjoining properties. Hearings and decisions on those cases can continue. [Source 2]

**Council freeze:** During the Effective Period the council may not introduce or pass other data center zoning or regulatory legislation, except for an acute emergency, to form the work group, or to enact the work group's recommendations. [Source 2]

**Work group:** Each councilmember appoints one member and the county executive appoints four more, subject to council confirmation, plus ex officio designees from planning and zoning, public works, inspections and permits, the economic development corporation and the Office of Law. Its report is due no later than ten months after the ordinance takes effect. Topics include siting, setbacks, water use and quality, power and energy consumption, noise, impact fees, decommissioning and tax credits. [Source 2]

**Tax change:** The bill repeals the personal property tax assessment reduction for qualified data storage centers. [Source 1] [Source 2]

How the bill changed

As introduced in July, the bill would have removed data storage centers as a conditional use in the C2 and C3 commercial districts and as a permitted use in industrial districts, MXD-S mixed use districts and the Odenton Town Center OTD-I district, according to the county fiscal note. [Source 3] WMAR reports that the council replaced that approach with a moratorium and that the county executive requested the change. WMAR also reports that Microsoft, which is developing a campus at Annapolis Junction Business Park, supported regulations and a work group but wanted existing campuses to keep developing. [Source 4]

Buyer analysis

This is our analysis.

**Pipeline already in process matters most.** The bill does not stop plans already on file or adjacent phases of existing campuses. Capacity that reaches Anne Arundel before 2028 will most likely come from those cases, not from new sites.

**New sites wait at least until the work group reports.** With a report due within ten months of the effective date and a council freeze on other data center legislation, buyers should not expect a new site entitlement path in the county before late 2027 at the earliest.

**Watch the tax change.** Repealing the personal property tax reduction can raise the operating cost of equipment-heavy facilities in the county. The reviewed sources do not quantify the effect.

**Neighboring counties gain relative appeal.** Buyers looking at the Baltimore and Fort Meade corridor may see more new development proposed outside Anne Arundel while the pause lasts.

What remains unknown

The county page does not state the ordinance's effective date, and the bill text we reviewed is the version amended September 21, 2026; we did not find a separate final enrolled text reflecting any later amendments. The reviewed sources do not list which data center plans are already on file, their capacity, or the size of the tax change.

Sources

  1. Anne Arundel County Council, Bill No. 63-26 legislation page · Published 2026-10-05
  2. Anne Arundel County Council, Bill No. 63-26 as amended · Published 2026-09-21
  3. Anne Arundel County Office of the Budget, Bill 63-26 fiscal note · Published 2026-08-11
  4. WMAR-2 News · Published 2026-10-06

Explore the market

Related reporting

Development & Power

Serverfarm tops out ARK1 at its Clarksville, Arkansas campus, a building the company lists at 108 MW

Serverfarm has topped out ARK1, the first building at its Clarksville, Arkansas data center campus, DCD reported on October 12, 2026, citing a LinkedIn post by chief executive Avner Papouchado the previous week. [Source 1] Serverfarm's own campus page lists four buildings, ARK1 through ARK4, each with 108 MW of building capacity across 300,000 square feet on two floors, and says the first two buildings are expected to be complete by January 2028. The page does not say whether 108 MW is critical IT load or utility capacity. [Source 2]

Clarksville, Johnson County, Arkansas · Under construction. ARK1 topped out, per DCD on October 12, 2026 citing a CEO post the prior week. Serverfarm targets its first two buildings for January 2028. Not energized or available per the reviewed sources. As of October 12, 2026.
Read the analysis
Development & Power

Virginia regulators cite Google's Project Peanut data center site in Chesterfield County for seven sediment incidents outside its water permit

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality issued Notice of Violation No. 2026-08-PRO-203 on September 29, 2026 to Peanut LLC, the responsible party for Project Peanut in Chesterfield County, under Virginia Water Protection Permit No. 19-1094. The notice was emailed to a google.com address. It cites unauthorized filling of surface waters outside permitted impact areas reported on seven dates between December 30, 2025 and August 5, 2026, and estimates that about 7,735 linear feet of stream channel and about 1.4 acres of wetland were affected by sediment. [Source 1] Google told local media that heavy rainfall overwhelmed stormwater controls and that it temporarily paused general construction to focus on cleanup. [Source 2]

Chesterfield County, Virginia · Under construction (site work), per DEQ observations of project-related activities from December 2025 to August 2026. Notice of violation issued September 29, 2026; enforcement pending. Google told local media it temporarily paused general construction for cleanup. As of October 12, 2026.
Read the analysis
Development & Power

Taylor, Texas approves an annexation agreement for the 664-acre Taylor Technology Campus, binding the data center and on-site power project to reclaimed water cooling and noise limits

The Taylor City Council voted unanimously on October 8, 2026 to approve a development agreement with Big Watt Digital and PowerHouse Data Centers that brings the 664-acre Taylor Technology Campus, formerly Project Mustang, into city limits, according to local news reports. The campus plan includes data center facilities and on-site power generation. Under the city's published terms, the developers must use closed loop cooling with reclaimed water, keep data centers and power generation at least 700 feet from the south property line, hold noise to the greater of 65 dBA or the pre-development level, and commit $28.2 million to community investments. The city projects $1.38 billion in gross tax revenue over 20 years and says the developers did not request tax abatements with this agreement. [Source 1] [Source 2] [Source 3]

Between FM 112 and U.S. 79, east of Taylor, Williamson County, Texas · Approved. Taylor City Council approved a development agreement for annexation and development conditions on October 8, 2026, as reported by KUT and CBS Austin. Not established: tenant, power capacity, construction or availability. As of October 9, 2026.
Read the analysis