Colocation Scout / News & Analysis

Zone Frontier leases 4,077 acres in Potter County, Texas for a planned data center campus, with rent starting only at construction

Zone Frontier disclosed that a subsidiary signed a ground lease on September 24, 2026 for about 4,077 acres in Potter County, Texas, around Southwestern Public Service Company's Potter County 345 kV substation. Base rent is $6,000 per acre per year for the data center area and starts only when construction starts there. The lease does not commence until conditions are met, including utility commitments for at least 200 MW of firm service. [Source 1] [Source 2]

Zone Frontier leases 4,077 acres in Potter County, Texas for a planned data center campus, with rent starting only at construction
All news & analysisDevelopment & PowerPotter County, TexasAnnounced (ground lease signed September 24, 2026). Lease commencement depends on conditions precedent, including utility commitments for at least 200 MW of firm service and an interconnection agreement. No tenant, permits or interconnection agreement disclosed as of September 29, 2026.

Disclosed terms

Land
About 4,077 acres in Potter County, Texas; 200 to 800 acres for data center use [1]
Data center area rent
$6,000 per acre per year, starting only at construction [1]
Purchase option
$100,000 per acre before on-site generation commercial operation, $135,000 after [1]
Key condition
Utility commitments for at least 200 MW of firm service required before the lease commences [1]
Stated campus size
Initial 200 MW, potential beyond 500 MW (basis not stated) [2]

The disclosure and our analysis

Evidence dates

Evidence: Zone Frontier Form 8-K (Item 1.01) and press release (Exhibit 99.1); ground lease dated September 24, 2026, release dated September 29, 2026.

What Zone disclosed

A Zone Frontier subsidiary entered into a ground lease with GKC Operating, LLC on September 24, 2026, covering about 4,077 acres in Potter County, Texas. The site surrounds the existing Potter County 345 kV substation of Southwestern Public Service Company, an Xcel Energy company, in the Southwest Power Pool region. Zone is developing the campus with HST Technologies, Inc. [Source 1] [Source 2]

Zone may designate 200 to 800 acres for data center facilities and at least 1,800 acres for solar generation, battery storage and support infrastructure. The company says the rest could host other uses, which it believes could include natural gas generation. [Source 1]

Lease terms

| Term | Disclosed figure |

| --- | --- |

| Initial term | 30 years from rent commencement, two 10-year extensions |

| Data center area rent | $6,000 per acre per year |

| Solar area rent | $1,000 per acre per year |

| Rent start | Only when construction starts on that area |

| Escalation | Five-year rolling average CPI increase |

| Structure | Absolute triple net |

| Revenue share | 0.5% of data center revenue, eliminated if the purchase option is exercised |

| Purchase option | $100,000 per acre before on-site generation reaches commercial operation, $135,000 per acre after |

| Deposit | $250,000 in escrow on recording, credited to any purchase |

Source: Form 8-K, Item 1.01. [Source 1]

The lease includes a long-term water supply agreement drawing on water rights tied to the property. [Source 1]

Conditions and outs

The lease does not commence until conditions precedent for Zone's benefit are met or waived. They include acceptable title, utility commitments for at least 200 MW of firm service, water supply commitments, an interconnection agreement, required government approvals and completion of diligence. [Source 1]

Zone controls a one-year inspection period, extendable by one year, and may terminate before it ends. If construction has not started on a site area within 48 months, the landlord may terminate the lease and purchase option for that area. Zone is not required to start construction by any date. [Source 1]

What the megawatt figures mean

Zone's release says the campus is "sized to an initial 200 MW with potential to expand beyond 500 MW." The release does not state whether those figures are utility service, total campus power or IT load. The 8-K's 200 MW figure is a condition: utility commitments for at least 200 MW of firm service. That is a utility service figure, and Zone has not said it has obtained it. [Source 1] [Source 2]

Zone says it is now focused on "securing tenants, advancing permitting, and completing power and interconnection studies." [Source 2]

Our arithmetic on the rent

This is our calculation from the disclosed rates. Once construction starts, data center area rent would be about $1.2 million a year at the 200 acre minimum and $4.8 million at the 800 acre maximum, before escalation and the revenue share. Buying the full 800 acres would cost $80 million before on-site generation reaches commercial operation, or $108 million after. Solar area rent on the 1,800 acre minimum would be $1.8 million a year once built.

Buyer analysis

This is our analysis.

**This is a land and power option, not capacity.** No tenant, interconnection agreement, firm utility commitment or permit is disclosed. Nothing here is available or under construction.

**The structure favors the developer.** Rent waits for construction, and Zone can walk away during inspection. That keeps carrying cost low, but it also means the landlord, not just Zone, can end the deal if construction does not start within 48 months.

**On-site power is part of the plan.** The required solar and battery acreage, plus Zone's mention of possible gas generation, signals a mixed grid and on-site supply model. Buyers looking at Texas Panhandle sites should ask how much load would be grid served, how much on-site, and on what schedule.

**Developer track record.** Zone's risk factors note its continuing transition from a cleaning services business and its lack of data center operating history. Its other project, a Minnesota campus with a Cerebras colocation agreement, is expected by Zone to produce revenue in the first half of 2027. [Source 2]

What remains unknown

The reviewed sources do not disclose a tenant, a utility or interconnection agreement, the basis of the 200 MW and 500 MW figures in the release, water volumes, permit status, a construction schedule or campus capital cost. The full ground lease will be filed with a later Form 10-Q and was not reviewed.

Sources

  1. Zone Frontier, Form 8-K · Published 2026-09-29
  2. Zone Frontier, press release (SEC Form 8-K Exhibit 99.1) · Published 2026-09-29

Related reporting

Development & Power

Virginia executive order cuts state fast track help for new data centers of 25 MW or more

Virginia Governor Abigail Spanberger signed Executive Order 22 on September 18, 2026. Effective on signing, the Virginia Economic Development Partnership may not give site readiness, expedited permitting or similar discretionary help to a new data center project with anticipated peak electrical demand of 25 MW or more. The order also bars state agencies from new data center nondisclosure agreements and starts work on backup generator, noise and cooling water rules. [Source 1]

Virginia (statewide) · Executive order signed and effective September 18, 2026. Agency rules, studies and 2027 legislative proposals are pending and are not law.
Read the analysis
Development & Power

DTE reports 2.4 GW of data center power agreements in Michigan and 2 GW more in advanced talks

DTE Energy told investors on September 28, 2026 that it has 2.4 GW of executed data center agreements in Michigan. It lists 1.4 GW for Oracle as approved and 1 GW for Google as still in the Michigan Public Service Commission approval process. DTE also says it is in advanced discussions with additional hyperscalers for about 2 GW more and is targeting another agreement by the end of 2026. [Source 1]

Southeast Michigan (Saline Township and Van Buren Township) · Oracle contracts: Approved (MPSC approval, per DTE as of September 28, 2026). Google contracts: Proposed (pending MPSC approval as of September 28, 2026). Further 2 GW: in discussions, no agreement disclosed
Read the analysis
Development & Power

Atlas Energy commits to 283 MW of Caterpillar generators for a frontier AI lab's data center project

Atlas Energy Solutions disclosed on September 25, 2026 that a subsidiary committed to buy 283 MW of Caterpillar natural gas generation equipment for a specific power project. A cost reimbursement agreement with an unnamed leading frontier AI lab backs the purchase, and Atlas says the lab is the intended off taker. No long-term power purchase agreement has been announced. [Source 1] [Source 2]

Not disclosed · Announced (equipment purchase commitments and cost reimbursement agreements executed as of September 25, 2026; no power purchase agreement disclosed)
Read the analysis