Core Scientific details conditional power approvals at three Texas sites
Core Scientific’s September 10 disclosure distinguishes existing power, expansion power and conditional approvals at Denton, Pecos and Hunt. Pecos still awaits its final Batch Zero allocation and load ramp.
ERCOT's June 18 explanation describes Batch Zero as the first group under a process that studies qualified large loads of at least 75 MW together. The aim is to assess combined demand, allocate grid capacity and identify transmission work. That context helps explain why a project classification and a final electricity delivery commitment answer different questions. Source 2 explains the framework; Source 1 contains Core Scientific's site disclosures as of September 10.
Denton: distinguish existing power from the increment
Denton's existing 297 MW is conditionally classified under Pathway (a) outside Batch Zero. A further 74 MW was validated in ERCOT's 2025 transmission planning cases and also sits outside that process. The additional amount is described as power to be energized. Treating the combined figure as newly delivered power would lose that distinction.
Pecos: final allocation still matters
Pecos has 300 MW of existing power conditionally classified under Pathway (b), plus 300 MW of expansion conditionally classified as studied load. Core Scientific reports submitted documentation and posted collateral, but says its final allocation and load ramp await completion of Batch Zero.
Hunt: evidence of progress, with conditions remaining
Hunt's planned 431 MW carries conditional Pathway (e) classification. The company reports completed interconnection studies, an approved stability study, collateral, equipment orders and construction activity. These details provide more evidence of project advancement than an initial site announcement alone.
Our analysis: compare milestones before comparing megawatts
For a buyer choosing between Texas facilities, we would build a separate delivery timeline for each proposed block of capacity. Ask which approvals apply to the exact block being quoted, what work remains, who controls that work, and when the operator will commit to customer acceptance. A campus can have a mixture of existing service and future expansion. An answer about one portion should not be assumed to apply to every building.
The distinction also matters when negotiating a phased deployment. If an initial phase is available sooner than an expansion phase, a buyer should understand how the contract handles that sequence. Useful questions include whether later phases have firm dates, whether deposits depend on milestones, and what options exist if the power ramp changes. Those are recommended diligence questions, not disclosed terms of Core Scientific's customer agreements.
Electrical power is only one part of a usable capacity offer
Our reading is that the disclosed electrical figures should be kept separate from a customer's required IT load. Buyers should request a written reconciliation between site power, facility operating requirements and the capacity promised to their equipment. They should also verify cooling suitability, redundancy, commissioning and connectivity for their particular deployment rather than assume those requirements are covered by a grid classification.
A useful provider comparison would show the evidence date, the relevant power block, the expected service date and the conditions attached to each commitment. That approach helps a buyer compare offers on the same basis and identify where a delivery claim still depends on an external decision. This article describes the September disclosure; it is not a live inventory of available Texas capacity.
What remains unknown
The cited update does not disclose colocation pricing, capacity available to new customers or a final delivery schedule for each power block. Pecos explicitly awaits its final allocation and load ramp. Buyers need current written confirmation from the operator before relying on any of these figures for procurement.
Thor Equities has submitted plans for Kingston Technology Hub, a proposed 350,000-square-foot data center in Bartow County. Data Center Dynamics reports a 150MW project with an estimated $1 billion investment and a target completion date in 2030.
Edged announced the topping out of OMA01-1 and OMA01-2 at its 200MW Council Bluffs campus. The milestone marks completion of the buildings' structural framework, with work continuing into subsequent construction phases.
Council Bluffs, Iowa, in the Omaha market · Under construction
Fort Worth City Council voted 7-4 on August 25 to approve an amended site plan covering 187 acres of Black Mountain's planned data center project, according to Fort Worth Report reporting republished by KERA. The revised design includes four buildings, an electrical substation and green space separating the campus from nearby homes.