Colocation Scout / News & Analysis

Soluna reports conditional ERCOT Base Load status for 266 MW across two Texas wind campuses

Soluna Holdings says ERCOT has conditionally classified its 100 MW Project Dorothy campus in Briscoe County, Texas as Base Load in Batch Zero. A week earlier it reported the same conditional classification for the full 166 MW Project Kati campus in Willacy County, Texas. The company totals the two at 266 MW. [Source 1] [Source 2]

Soluna reports conditional ERCOT Base Load status for 266 MW across two Texas wind campuses
All news & analysisDevelopment & PowerBriscoe County and Willacy County, TexasConditional ERCOT Base Load classification

Disclosed terms

Project Dorothy classification
100 MW campus, conditional Base Load in Batch Zero; power basis not stated [1]
Project Kati classification
166 MW campus, conditional Base Load; power basis not stated [2]
Dorothy energized capacity
98 MW (Dorothy 1 and 2), company stated [1]

The disclosure and our analysis

Evidence dates

Evidence: Soluna releases dated September 8 and September 14, 2026, both furnished to the SEC.

Soluna Holdings says ERCOT has conditionally classified its 100 MW Project Dorothy campus in Briscoe County, Texas as Base Load in Batch Zero. A week earlier it reported the same conditional classification for the full 166 MW Project Kati campus in Willacy County, Texas. The company totals the two at 266 MW. [Source 1] [Source 2]

What Batch Zero Base Load means

Soluna describes Batch Zero as ERCOT's transitional process for evaluating large load interconnection requests system-wide, replacing the prior project-by-project approach. It says a Base Load classification preserves a project's interconnection capacity based on prior study work. It also exempts the project from further reliability evaluation or megawatt allocation within the study. [Source 1]

The classification is conditional. It is pending completion of ERCOT's verification process, under which ERCOT may remove a project if the applicant does not respond to information requests. Soluna says it expects ERCOT to confirm the classification. Status as of September 14, 2026: conditionally classified, not final. [Source 1]

The 100 MW and 166 MW figures are campus figures as the company states them. The releases do not say whether they are interconnection capacity, critical IT load or another basis. They should not be read as IT capacity.

What is energized and what is planned

Project Kati: Soluna says it energized the final 14 MW of Kati 1 on September 8, completing the 83 MW first phase, which is dedicated to Bitcoin hosting. It says Galaxy Digital filled the first 48 MW. Kati 2 is a planned 83 MW phase for AI and high-performance computing. Kati is powered by the Las Majadas wind energy project. [Source 2]

Project Dorothy: Soluna says Dorothy 1 and Dorothy 2 account for 98 MW of energized capacity. They are built behind the meter at the 150 MW Briscoe Wind Farm, which Soluna acquired in April 2026. Dorothy 3 is a planned 300 MW next phase designed for AI and high-performance computing. [Source 1]

Soluna has also submitted a request to the transmission and distribution provider for an additional 50 MW at Dorothy. It says that request falls below the Batch Zero threshold and is being studied directly by the provider. Status: Proposed. [Source 1]

Economics and material unknowns

The releases do not disclose customer pricing, the power basis of the campus totals, or a delivery date for Kati 2 or Dorothy 3. They do not name AI customers for either planned phase. The 300 MW Dorothy 3 phase is larger than the 100 MW Dorothy classification described in the release. The reviewed sources do not say how that phase would be interconnected.

Soluna cites ERCOT as reporting more than 438,000 MW of large load requests in the queue as of mid-2026, nearly 90 percent from data centers. That is the company's citation of ERCOT; we did not independently verify the figure. [Source 1]

Buyer analysis

In ERCOT, where a large load request sits in the study process can matter as much as the headline megawatts. A conditional Base Load position, if confirmed, would mean Soluna's existing studied capacity is not reallocated in Batch Zero. That is a narrower claim than a firm delivery date for new AI capacity.

Most of the energized capacity at both campuses serves Bitcoin hosting today. AI and HPC buyers should treat Kati 2 and Dorothy 3 as planned phases. Ask for the interconnection basis, cooling design, curtailment exposure and delivery schedule in writing. Behind-the-meter wind sites can also carry variability that a grid-backed colocation contract would not.

What remains unknown

The releases do not state the power basis of the 100 MW and 166 MW campus figures, customer pricing, AI customers, or delivery dates for Kati 2 and Dorothy 3. Classification is conditional pending ERCOT verification.

Sources

  1. Soluna Project Dorothy release, SEC exhibit · Published 2026-09-14
  2. Soluna Kati 1 release, SEC exhibit · Published 2026-09-08

Related reporting

Development & Power

Rockingham, North Carolina rezones 165 acres for a four-building Terra Nexus data center campus

Rockingham City Council approved a conditional rezoning of about 165.07 acres at 316 Old Cheraw Highway for a data center campus, according to the Richmond County Daily Journal. The paper reported a 4 to 1 vote, with Councilwoman Holly Howe opposed. The applicant is Terra Nexus Land Fund I, LLC. [Source 1] [Source 3]

Rockingham, Richmond County, North Carolina · Conditional rezoning approved
Read the analysis